After rewatching Stranger Things, I’ve been watching anything with Winona Ryder that comes up on my Netflix suggested. Besides Netflix a friend recommended Heathers to me, so I figured why not. Spoilers ahead.

I should preface this with the fact that I had no idea what this movie was about. The moment Heather dies, I was literally like

patrickstar

So needless to say those first twenty minutes was a bit of a whirlwind where I went from thinking that this was some older version of Mean Girls, to a Clueless type thing, to actually comprehending what was going on.

My thoughts

+ The first half of the movie was pretty funny, but then it got kind of repetitive…. I appreciated that it wasn’t a typical teen movie about high school cliques and stereotypes. In that sense it was fresh and exciting for the first part, but the story line got redundant with the number of “suicides” growing from 1, to 2, to a whole high school.

+ I thought Winona Ryder and Christian Slater did pretty good jobs in their roles. I appreciated that Ryder’s character grew to stand on her own two feet as the movie progressed, even if her outlook on life arguably didn’t really change all that much. All the other characters were kind of meh.

+ <soapbox>The movie kind of crossed the line with the response characters (besides Veronica, I guess) gave to Martha “Dumptruck” Dunnstock’s attempted suicide. It was as if committing suicide was “fetch” and the loser was trying to be popular by “joining the club.” The movie was funny up until that because up until that moment the suspension of disbelief was strong. But at that moment, it became a little too real b/c teenage suicide triggered by bullying is a problem and shouldn’t be treated lightly. That being said, the movie didn’t treat it lightly or anything. It actually helped emphasize one of the points of the movie (i.e. people chasing what’s the new fad and what’s hip/popular in school), but it just didn’t sit well with me. :/ </soapbox>

I’m glad I watched it b/c Heathers is considered a cult classic. Even though I’m still not entirely sure how I feel about the movie as an aggregate, I did genuinely enjoy the first half of the movie. I’d probably give it a 6.5 or 7/10.

 

