I watched Moonlight this weekend. Finally. After much hype, here are my thoughts:

Moonlight is a good movie, but I think my experience suffered from the hype surrounding it. Had I watched it when it first came out, instead of after months of hearing great reviews from co-workers/friends/family/media, my response might have been different.

What I liked:

  • The cinematography.
  • The musical motifs.
  • The symbolism with the ocean and night-time/moonlight. The ocean appears in each of the three chapters and during each occurrence something important/pivotal happens in Chiron’s life.
  • Mahershala Ali’s performance as Juan was really good. The cast was overall pretty good.
  • The three chapter structure of the movie.

What I didn’t like:

  • The hype. Honestly, I can’t think of something from the movie that was glaringly bad or dislikable. I just wish my expectations weren’t so high because of all the hype surrounding the movie. It wasn’t a great movie, but it is the story and how it is told that makes the movie memorable.

I have been wanting to watch Moonlight for months now and I am glad I finally watched it. I regret listening to all the hype beforehand, but I won’t forget the story, the storytelling, and the characters. I cried watching the movie and I kept thinking about the movie afterwards. If anyone who reads this wants to discuss the movie further, I am down to do so; it is one of those movies that I am still unpacking each time I discuss it with someone who has watched it.

