I decided to watch Glengarry Glen Ross on a whim because I had heard good things and it was easily accessible on Netflix. I didn’t know it was based on a play, but within the first 10 minutes, it was very evident that it was a play.

Things that I liked:

+ Really good cast. It’s a play so it’s incredibly important to use words and emotions, rather than broad/large actions to tell the story, and the cast really delivered on this. Al Pacino and Jack Lemmon particularly stood out for me.

+ There are two memorable scenes which will probably define the movie for me: 1) Alec Baldwin being the most brutal motivator ever, and 2) Al Pacino being the sleaziest salesman ever, when he tries to con his customer into accidentally missing the three day mark to cancel his deal.

+ Always Be Closing.

Things I didn’t like:

+ I really like Death of a Salesman and, to be honest, this was a more aggressive version of the play for me. The story highlights all the lies, bribes, and other Machiavellian techniques used by the salesmen to get ahead and to make money. Whereas Death of a Salesman highlights a man’s inability to accept that he wasn’t able to reach his dreams (the “American” dream) despite all the years of hard work he put in, Glengarry Glen Ross just gave us a window into the lives of four salesmen who would do anything to succeed/stay on top/bring money home.

TL;DR: The cast was great, the cinematography on point, but I just didn’t really feel compelled by the story or the characters, who all had a very bitter effect. That might have very well been the point, but eh.

