This movie had been recommended by two friends in the past. I never got around to watching it and it appeared on Netflix last week. So, I decided to watch it. Warning, spoilers ahead.

What I liked:

The cast was a blockbuster cast: Morgan Freeman, Lucy Liu (put in a real mood to watch Kill Bill Vol. 1 again), Josh Hartnett, Stanley Tucci, Bruce Willis, Ben Kingsley. Most of the cast members has pretty good performances. The dialogue was witty and humorous enough, especially interactions involving Slevin.

What I didn’t like:

The surprise didn’t really feel like a surprise. I pretty much expected that either (or both) Mr. Goodkat (Willis) or Slevin (Josh Hartnett) were tied to the original story about Max and were out to get revenge against the Boss (Morgan Freeman) and the Rabbi (Ben Kingsley). I don’t get surprised by movies very much anymore, but whenever I do, like in the Usual Suspects, it’s a pleasant surprise. But, the audience was quite blatantly lead to this ending and the story telling did nothing to make the predictable, unpredictable. I guess the only surprise (ish) for me was that Brikowski (Stanley Tucci) killed Slevin’s mom.

Overall, it was a fun movie to watch. It’s a good movie for a relaxed night at home. Probably won’t re-watch it personally, but it was a good watch.

 

