I rarely pay to see movies in the theater anymore. I only chose to do so when there’s a movie that is visually stunning enough to warrant a huge screen. Dr. Strange is a movie that merits a huge screen.

A standard superhero movie, it was fun to watch. It neither felt long nor did the storyline feel slow. The story did have some ambiguities that weren’t properly addressed, but I also feel that the ambiguity added to the context of the “mystical world.” Dr. Strange focuses on the mystical counterpart of the universe, in contrast to the physical realm portrayed in the Avengers. Overall though, the story was an average hero-movie story.

The movie was funny, with lots of laugh-out-loud moments. The Cloak of Levitation was one of my favorite characters; it had a lot of personality. Benedict Cumberbatch did an awesome job, as per his usual. I also really liked Rachel McAdams’ performance in the movie, even though she is a minor character. I personally hope to see more of her in future Dr. Strange installments. The visual effects were absolutely stunning. I heard some people compare it to Interstellar, I was reminded of some scenes from Inception. In any case, the visual effects were one of the (if not the biggest) highlights.

The verdict: another solidly good Marvel movie. Would recommend it if you like superhero movies or if you enjoy visual effects. If you fall into the latter group, I would recommend dishing out the money to see Dr. Strange at the theaters. I’m glad I did and I’m excited to see more of Dr. Strange in future films.

