I randomly watched Hot Fuzz one day because I wanted to kill some time on Netflix and it looked like a funny movie. I think I’d give it a 8/10. It was a one-time movie for me, but it was pretty good.

Pros: The plot was a first for me. I normally can predict conclusions to movies pretty easily, but this movie’s ending was pleasantly unexpected and that was a big win for me.  I enjoyed the healthy balance of nonsense and seriousness. I definitely laughed out loud a few times. The cast was really good (a lot better than I expected).

Cons: There was some parts where the jokes were just not that funny; it felt like they were trying to hard to make it funny.

If you’re looking to casually watch a movie, either alone or with friends, Hot Fuzz could be a good choice if you like satirical action comedy films and enjoy/tolerate nonsense plot elements. Otherwise, I’d say skip it.

