Wino forever.

But in all seriousness, I had no intention of watching this show, nor did I know it existed. I first learned about it one day, while I was eating lunch and my roommate was watching it. Winona Ryder walks onto the screen and I’m taken aback because is the first major role (at least to my knowledge) she’s had in a good while. Now I’m intrigued and I continue watching. By the end of the episode, I’m interested enough that invest and watch the full season (8 episodes).

I’m not an 80’s kid, so I can’t really comment on the legitimacy of the show’s representation of the 80s. However, the biggest selling point for Stranger Things was its nostalgia. The music, the clothing and hairstyles, the neighborhood cul-de-sac, Star Wars, Dungeons and Dragons, among others. Even the visuals of the show (the image quality and the camera angles) had the same feeling as movies and shows made during the 1980s (and that took place in the then-present time). The show had an old-school horror movie/Twilight Zone feel (a faux Stephen King effect of sorts).

The show doesn’t offer much novelty to the genre. It’s predictable to a T. But, I still burned through the season faster than most TV shows that I watch. I thought the actors were all very well cast, particularly the four main kids (Finn Wolfhard, Millie Bobby Brown, Gaten Matarazzo, Caleb McLaughlin), Joyce (Ryder) and Hopper (Harbour). My particular favorite was Dustin (Matarazzo). Stranger Things was definitely a refreshing addition to my summer TV shows and probably one of the better (best) ones I watched over the past couple of months.

I’m curious whether second season (which more of a ‘sequel‘ apparently) will live up to the first. Will the show writers be able to rely on the nostalgia card again and their talented cast to keep their audience interested?

Till then, this is a pretty cool poster.

stranger-things-poster-netflix1

Please comment if you’ve seen the new show and having anything to add! I’m curious to discuss.

