I’ve got a couple of reviews (probably more appropriate to call them ‘thoughts on movies’) queued up. So bear with my in the almost torrential downpour of blogposts.

So I watched both The Avengers: Age of Ultron and Tomorrowland in theaters this summer. I had actually really liked the first Avengers so I was excited to watch the sequel, despite having very minimal knowledge of what the movie was actually about. And I was kind of disappointed.

What I liked:

+ The action sequences were really well done and I really enjoyed watching them on the big screen.

+ Iron Man’s and Ultron’s sass, especially when they were sassing each other.

What I didn’t like:

+ It felt like the movie took a really long time to do what it was trying to do. I was ready to leave when there was still 30 minutes of the movie left.

+ Ultron was not a villain I could actually buy into. I don’t know enough of Avengers history to know whether or not Ultron was actually supposed to be really advanced (or rather ‘alien’) artificial intelligence, but I couldn’t really suspend my disbelief about the feasibility of this computer humanoid. Probably just personal taste, but this was a big contributing factor to my disappointment.

I think it’s a fun movie to watch if you’re in the mood for a mindless action movie, but not worth to see it in the theaters (I don’t know if it’s even showing in the theaters anymore). I’m interested to see what they’ll do with the sequel that was hinted at.

So I thought the Avengers was a meh movie, until I saw Tomorrowland. Then the Avengers suddenly became a pretty decent movie.

Tomorrow land can be summarized in three points:

1) The exposition was way too long; I lost interest before I even found out what the conflict was.

2) The trailers were extremely deceptive; this isn’t an action movie, it’s just a cheesy movie about being an imagineer.

3) The only redeeming quality was George Clooney.

Honestly, I wish I could get back the hours of my life that went into watching this movie.

