Joint post for latest Hobbit movie of the trilogy and Into the Woods.  Not much to say about either really.

Hobbit

I sat through each of these horrendously long and tedious Hobbit movies out of respect for the original Lord of the Rings movies.  Now those were quality movies.  These were just…sad.  Taking a book, shorter than all the other Lord of the Rings books, and splitting it into three movies was going to lead to disaster; each of the movies proceeded at a snail-like pace, with the end of the movie feeling like it was nowhere in sight.  But rant aside, graphics/visuals were better in this movie as compared to the previous movie. Acting was generally good (whatever issues there were I think were probably more attributable to direction rather than the actors).  As per usual, the movie tried to satisfy the fandom by including characters not actually that relevant to the storyline [i.e. the Elven Queen (Cate Blanchett), they still had Legolas floating around].  Speaking of Legolas floating, apparently he now has the ability to jump up boulders…while they’re falling through mid-air? This clip, among others, were way too over-the-top and, most likely unintentionally, comical, not that I didn’t appreciate the comic relief.

tl;dr I went to his movie with friends.  One of my friends slept through half the movie.  I was yearning for the movie to end and regretting the money I spent to see the movie in theaters.  My rec: if you’re into Lord of the Rings, just wait till this movie is out of the theaters to watch it.

Into the Woods

I have even less to say for this.  It was an okay movie.  I really like the musical so I was excited to see the movie (and I’m a big fan of Meryl Streep…so there was that too).  Granted the movie felt more like a theater production than a movie at times, I think it did the job for the most part. Singing was generally pretty well done (granted I still haven’t decided how I feel about Streep’s version of “Stay With Me”).  As for the acting, I think Chris Pine, Emily Blunt, and Meryl Streep (<3) had the best acting.  Everybody else was just kind of okay, not particularly moving/engaging.

I’m glad they cut down act 2 because otherwise it would have been a particularly long, granted I’m not sure how well the movie delivered the message of the story with the reduced act 2, but I think it was good enough.  Especially because the “Last Midnight” scene was really well done. (One kid at the end of the scene piped in to ask “did she….die????”)  I’m also not sure how I feel about Rapunzel’s story being Disney-fied (she’s supposed to go mad and die…that really would have had some pretty good character/plot development contribution).

Overall, it was an okay movie with some really nice aspects to it (did I mention Meryl Streep and Emily Blunt), but I would recommend waiting for it to be out of theaters. Not really worth paying that much for. As I go back to listening to the soundtrack….agonyyyyyyyy.

