Much belated.  I watched both of these over a month ago, so my thoughts aren’t exactly…fresh.  Nor do I have much thoughts on both movies, so they are instead merged into one post.

Blue Jasmine

First let’s take a look at Blue Jasmine, featuring Cate Blanchett, Alec Baldwin, and Sally Hawkins.   The story tells of how a Manhattan socialite (Blanchett) falls into poverty, and how she deals with her lifestyle change.  Even though the movie is an okay movie overall, Cate Blanchett’s performance was very good; she did a super job of playing a woman who, already incredibly unbalanced at the start of the story, unravels at the seams into madness.  It was a very believable portrayal, even though I had not sympathy for the character.  I thought her Oscar was much deserved.

The movie itself didn’t feel like other Woody Allen movies, but the dialogue driven plot, was very reminiscent of his style.  It also had the same deliberate slowness present in all Woody Allen movies.  I also definitely enjoyed the back and forth method of story telling, as it did help unravel the characters’ stories slow; I can definitely say the ending was unexpected, at least for me.  But in any case, the movie was in general an okay movie, and I can’t really say I came out of it with a memorable cinematic experience.  Also, I can definitely say that the backdrops of the Golden Gate and the Bay were not always the most believable (granted that doesn’t really affect the movie itself).  In any case, Blue Jasmine wouldn’t be my top recommendation for a Friday night movie. However, if you’re into watching good actresses in meh movies, then I suggest checking it out.

How to Train Your Dragon 2

During the summer, I had watched again How to Train Your Dragon in preparation for this movie.  I had heard mixed reviews going into it and I didn’t really know what to expect, but I knew I was definitely excited.

Toothless, ain’t he a cute one?

Honestly, I actually really enjoyed the movie.  It definitely wasn’t better than the first one, but it was still a very enjoyable experience.  Animation was really good, Toothlesss was super adorable (as per usual), and the soundtrack was baseline HTTYD quality music.  The movie felt a bit more mature than the first one, but I guess it was to be expected as the characters had grown up since the original, and therefore (in a very cliché way) the mature content is to be expected?  In any case, the villain was not the usual shitty sequel villain (which I appreciated).

Some of the cons (for lack of a better word) of the movie: some elements of the movie felt really rushed and compressed and overly dramatic, especially when (SPOILER) Stoic ends up dying because of mind-controlled Toothless.  It was the most generic possible plot element and it was definitely trying *very* hard to be a tear jerker.

But I def did enjoy this, and would recommend it as a Friday night flick.

