I watched Beginners last week.  I wouldn’t say I’m a die hard Christopher Plummer fan, but he was what drew me to this movie in the first place.  For people who are unfamiliar with the movie, it focuses on Oliver (Ewan McGregor), who reflects upon the last years of his father Hal’s (Christopher Plummer) life as he moves on in life and begins a relationship with Anna (Melanie Laurent).

There’s not much to say about the movie. It isn’t a particularly original plot, but it was still very heartwarming and funny at times.  McGregor and  and Plummer were both very refreshing in their roles. Throughout the movie, Oliver was reflecting upon his mother’s grief and his father’s closeted homosexuality and how that affected his parent’s relationship; he was effectively trying to reconcile the dysfunctional relationship he grew up experiencing with the more mature and fulfilling relationships later on in his father’s life, after he had come out.  This journey was the movie’s driving force, at least in my opinion. Plus, as the viewer, I clearly wanted the girl and guy to succeed (not really an original plot element, but still a familiar pleasant one).

As far as artistic elements of the film, I really liked the soundtrack to the movie as well as the cinematography.  Maybe I’m too ingrained in the indie/hipster style of filming, but I felt it very appropriate that the camera wasn’t entirely steady for some parts of the movie.  It felt like it was (in a very cliche way) reflective of the raw emotions evident in the scenes and within the characters, particularly Oliver.  Hands down my favorite part of the movie was “L-E-IT.”  (Totally unrelated to anything and everything, but it made me laugh pretty hard for a while.)

I watched this movie cause I wanted to watch a movie and was in the mood for a drama; would probably recommend viewing it in a similar context.

