After looking for it for a year, I finally managed to get my hands on Angels in America.  Based on the play, of the same name, by Tony Kushner, the HBO mini series focuses on the lives of six different New Yorkers whose lives are intertwined.  The story focuses on many issues including homosexuality, the AIDS epidemic, and Reagan era politics.  The story is split into two parts the “Millennium Approaches” and “Perestroika,” with each part being three hours long.

I feel like I cannot really give too much of the story line away without taking away from the experience of viewing it.  I think what really defined the experience for me was experiencing the characters lives alongside the characters in real time.  As a fair warning, it’s a very strange storyline; some of the artistic elements of the storyline and how things were filmed may not float everyone’s boat.  However, I actually appreciated the symbolism of the angel that visited Prior Walter (the central character of the entire movie portrayed by Justin Kirk) and of the shades and hallucinations that would visit the characters.  It felt like all of the characters had to face their inner demons in order to come to terms with the past, present, and future.  These demons were externalized via these hallucinations and imaginary characters.  In order to find their place and accept the way things are, each character had a struggle they needed to overcome or be overcome by.

I don’t think my commentary here did justice to Angels in America. I do really recommend it for people who like metaphorical story lines that verge on the melodramatic at times.  Watching the program was definitely a very introspective and emotionally draining experience at the time (about two months ago).  Unfortunately, in two months time that’s all I remember from the movie.  I remember the feeling in me when I finished watching it, but not much more about the artistic or plot elements of the film.  I guess that says something about the movie, too.

