I’m getting this out a bit late (approximately two months late to be precise), but I finally went to go see the Hobbit.  I am not a die-hard fan of the Lord of the Rings (but I have read all the books and seen all the movies), and having read the Hobbit a while back ago, I’ve been diligent in my progress through the movie series.   Why a series? I have no clue.  I was really disappointed to see that they had taken a single book (one book, not even as long as the Fellowship of the Ring), and split it into three movies. In any case, on to the movie review.

The movie was a bit too long, the special effects not as great as I thought they would be, the inclusion of Orlando Bloom’s character (Legolas) was random and unnecessary (although not entirely unpleasant).  There some really good fight scenes and the humor was great (I especially loved the river/barrel scene).

Overall I felt like this movie was, as far as plot goes, better than its predecessor.  However, I wish I didn’t pay the money to see it at the theaters; it felt like it was lacking and it was a bit of a disappointment.  Will I go see the third movie?  Probably; I’ve already invested in three movies. Plus, it’ll be the last chance to see Gandalf being awesome on screen.

