Yesterday I went to go see Gravity in the theaters.  The movies stars George Clooney and Sandra Bullock, as two astronauts who have to figure out how to get back to Earth after a Russian satellite gets blown up by a missile and produces space debris that destroys their shuttle in mid-orbit.

As always, be wary for spoiler alerts.

Although the movie was clearly made for 3D, I watched it in 2D.  To be honest, I probably wouldn’t have even been able to stomach the movie in 3D, and I mean that literally.  All of the spinning started getting to my stomach and I got nauseous. That being said, the effects were beautiful; the shots of the Earth and space, although all computer-generated, were very beautiful and mesmerizing.  Thus, I would recommend the movie in 3D to those who can handle it.

What I liked most about the movie was its simplicity.  There was a minimal cast, minimal sound (they’re in space, go figure), and a very simple plot.  As a friend pointed out, this was not a plot-driven movie, but rather a character-driven movie.  The plot was simple: evade the debris and find a way home.  However, throughout this endeavor to survive, Dr. Ryan Stone (Bullock) comes to term with her existence and the loss of her child.  In the solitude of space, where there was no sound and no other humans, Stone had confront herself.  She only had herself to talk to and to depend on; she had to accept that as humans, despite the odds, she would need to strive forward, and that life keeps moving on.  The scene that really got to me was the moment when Stone, sitting in the Soyuz, connects with a Greenlandic Inuit on Earth by accident.  That was the closest she came to human contact, to talking to someone and getting a response back.  If she were to die, she wanted to die in the “company” of another human; she would be rejoining her child (symbolized, not so poetically, by the child’s cries over the radio).  Yet, this was the point when she regains her strength in life.

The movie isn’t perfect.  It has its over-exaggerations and its scientific imperfections (in my opinion, Clooney didn’t have to sacrifice himself). But, the movie was a pleasure to watch.  (Only once though.)  It had been a long time since I had gotten so engaged in a movie.  It felt like I was there alongside Stone all throughout her trip from the Explorer to the Chinese space station; my heart skipped a beat when she almost gave in to the cold and solitude.  I enjoyed it, and I recommend it, especially while its still in the theaters. It’s worth your money.

