I recently watched Deer Hunter starring Robert DeNiro, Christopher Walken, John Savage, and Meryl Streep, among others.  I tried really hard to write something for this movie, but frankly speaking everything fell short of what I would have liked to write.

Watching this movie was a visceral experience.  I walked in with no knowledge of what to expect; I was perturbed throughout the movie, but moved by the end of it.  It was a fulfilling experience for me.  It was a story of a man who breaks under pressure and succumbs to randomness.  He allows his life to be defined by chance without even a second glance at everything which he leaves behind.  This is a sentiment that is hard to describe without the act of experiencing the movie.

I may be inspired one day and finally get everything I experienced into written form, but for now all I can recommend is that whoever reads this and is interested to watch the movie and experience it for his or herself.  I’m always down for a discussion, so for any who have seen the movie, or will watch it in the future, and would like to discuss it, I will more than gladly chat with you.

